Martha, Martha Worried and Upset

Martha, Martha

– Luke 10:38-42 (Cowboy Paraphrase)

There once were two sisters. One named Martha and one named Mary.

Mary sat at the Lord’s feet and listened intently to everything Jesus had to say.

Jesus told her all about a great and loving God, and about a glorious place called heaven, and about God’s plan to make it possible for ordinary people like her to spend eternity with God in heaven.

It all sounded too good to be true. Martha, on the other hand – being so much more practical than her sister, and realizing all that had to be done – busied herself in the kitchen. After all, she had at least 13 hungry men waiting in her living room to be fed.

Martha thought it would only be right if her no-good, lazy sister helped her prepare the meal, but Jesus said “Martha, Martha, you are worried and upset about many things, but only one thing is needed. Mary has chosen what is better.”

If you have never met a “Martha” – I am a “Martha”.

With our spring bull sale coming up, I have been extremely busy. As I think back, I can recall very few times that I did not feel extremely busy. I just jump from one busy period and/or deadline to another busy period and/or deadline. Sometimes I get so busy and overwhelmed I forget what is really important. I forget about God and what he has done for me through his son, Jesus. I forget that compared to what God has done for me, nothing else really matters.

What about you? Are you so busy, worried and/or concerned with your work and other activities that you are missing the point? Could you be classified as a “Martha”?

We need to take time to be like Martha’s sister, Mary. We need to take time to communicate with the Lord our God. We need to take time to read God’s Word – the Bible. We need to take time to thank God for all he has done for us. We need to take time for fellowship with other believers. Seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.

Matthew 6:33 … I am fully convinced that if we give God the proper place in our lives, he will take care of our daily concerns and needs. This is so simple – and yet – it is very difficult for most of us to put into practice.

Don’t just GO to church; BE the church

Source: Through a email newsletter.  The site I originally got it from updated and the link is no longer there anymore. http://honoredprairie.com

